Mummy's Stories

Family Health Goals

My brother is getting married in September. We have a short 2 months to go before we get all dolled up for a sweltering Malaysian wedding haha. (I remember screaming at someone, I was that hot on my wedding day!) So in light of this, we have decided to give ourselves 2 months to get in to shape. And by shape, I mean a less round shape then I am right now 

For me, it’s more about eating less and losing the last lingering bit of belly fat that has somehow clung on to me since being pregnant. For daddy, it’s eating more and building muscle. I wish my goal was to eat more, I’d be in shape in no time!

So I got on the phone to my aunt in England who is a personal trainer. Since I’m still nursing Milly, she gave me some tips on safely cutting back while still taking in enough calories to maintain the milk factory. 

First of all, food! She suggested ditching bread and dairy completely. That means no toast for breakfast, no cakes, no sandwiches, no milk, no cheese, no yogurts. You get the picture. And to be honest, it’s been a few days now and I’m seeing that life is not all that bad without them. I did fancy a glass of milk before bed yesterday but I ended up just having some water and forgetting about it. Oh, and I should have only a handful of carbs in a meal. I.e. NOT a massive plate of rice or a HUGE bowl of pasta. This is working out quite well because, since daddy is trying to eat more, I just hand over half my carbs to him! Hehe. Win win!

Secondly, exercise! So previously, I did go to the gym once or twice a week. And I join a Zumba class every Thursday, which I’m still doing because I love it! But the gym is the issue. I would do mindless jogging or a few rounds on some random weights. To be honest, I didn’t really know what I was doing and no obvious results was getting me down a bit. Clearly, I was doing it all wrong. I have now switched to high intensity interval training (HIIT). You do this by exercising in bursts then letting your body rest before repeating it over and over. So for example, 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds rest. Times 10 rounds! No kidding, after the first day of doing this, I really felt like I had exercised. How does it work? Basically, it keeps your heart rate up and burns more fat in less time. 12 minutes of working out is my kind of thing! After that I just do a few rounds of plank, a few weights and I’m done! 30 minutes per day max! Perfect!

Lastly, apples! A bit of a weird suggestion from my aunt. Eat an apple within 30 minutes of waking up. She swears by this and says it curbs any sweet cravings you will have during the day. I actually only remembered to do it once so far. I’m going to try and do it more to see if it really works. She said I should take the apple to bed so that it’s there when I wake up so I can eat it straight away. Worth the shot, I say. 

So, in summary:

  • No bread
  • No dairy
  • 12 mins HIIT exercise
  • Apple in the morning 

Ok. I can handle this! Let’s do it!

I’ve taken some ‘before’ pics but I think I would only be willing to post them alongside the ‘after’ ones hehe.

Meanwhile, daddy is looking all pumped up after like 3 days in the gym. Totally not fair. And Milly? Well she is doing just great by the looks of things. She LOVES drinking water which I think keeps her healthy and hydrated in this crazy heat. 

Stay tuned for updates. 

Say cheese! (Oh no, no cheese!!!)
Leave a Reply

